Sorrel? What was that?

17 Mar

I’ve got this type of sorrel growing in my garden but don’t know what to do with it. Clearly, I want to eat it but it is way too bitter to put into a salad, even the smaller leaves. I want to eat everything I possibly can from my garden so feel free to chip in with ways in which I can consume it.

Sorrel

7 Responses to “Sorrel? What was that?”

  1. Assia March 18, 2012 at 8:39 am #

    Hi,
    Here is a link to a number of recipes containing sorrel from the BBC food channel. I hope you enjoy them.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/sorrel
    Best,
    Assia

    • Professor March 18, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

      Hi Assia,

      Thank you very much for those. I think these recipes use a different type of Sorrel, which is green and far less of kick in the face when you try it. Fortunately, this also grows where I live so I shall try one or two of the recipes out when I can. Thanks

      • Assia March 18, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

        Hello, professor!
        Apologies, I didn’t realise it was a different type of sorrel, but I do hope some of these recipes will come in useful.
        Best, Assia

      • Professor March 18, 2012 at 8:25 pm #

        No apology necessary, I need to thank you. I’m now intrigued by the Fresh Water Textures and Japanese Flavours recipe you’ve brought to my attention. http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/fresh_water_textures_00408

  2. carrietxxxxx March 18, 2012 at 12:55 pm #

    I too, have this in my garden .I bought it because the leaves were so pretty.I thought I could use it to decorate /garnish a salad or something but you’re right ..the leaves are way too bitter to use on their own .Its about the only thing that came through my winter still growing so guess it must be quite tough.I was all geared up to eat it but as I read its rich in oxalic acid & mustn’t be consumed in large quantities it kind of took the edge off my appetite with it !I value my kidneys too much!
    Regards ,Caroline

    • Professor March 18, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

      Hi,
      Thanks for the info. You are dead right. They look great, don’t they? If I can’t find a culinary use for them, ornamental it will have to be!

      • carrietxxxxx March 18, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

        I might be brave enough to use a few leaves in a garnish.It is the buckler leaf sorrel (it’s shaped like a (roman shield )that is especially tasty .It has a citric irony taste .I had it at Judith Hanns(Tomorrows World) She is president of the Herb Society ,it was delicious in a salad but I’ve not been able to find the plant locally

Whatcha reckon?

