Wild Venison Hearts – Simply Does It

19 Mar

I realize the squeamish among you may not want to hear about this but as it is only my third ever heart-eating experience, I wanted to mark the occasion in some way. Wild venison is a meat I buy quite often and a meat that always seems to turn out particularly well. At the last farmer’s market I went to I was quite excited to see venison hearts on the game stall. Travelling around the world and seeing all the different parts of animals that happily get sold in the various markets that I’ve been to has taught me not to be so babyish about food. I have plenty of time for people with moral beliefs about what foods we should or shouldn’t be eating and not much time at all for all those who can’t bear to eat fish if it still has its head on. OK I realize that I should be more tolerant of this and there are reasons etc etc but … blaaah!

Anyway, two hearts cost me £3 and that’s a bargain of (nearly) anybody’s money these days. It was my intention to photograph their preparation carefully and post the pictures chronologically so you could follow the culinary magic but, as I’ve been told on many occasions, I do tend to make a bit of a mess and picking up the camera with my hands in a bloody mess was not an option I was afforded. Unfortunately (or fortunately), this will have to suffice.

Calm before the arterial storm!

It needed to be washed out and trimmed up, in particular removing the vents and any hard areas. It took a couple of minutes.I was surprised at how soft and tender it was, even before eating. I’d decided to eat it as simply as. I coated it in some salt, pepper, pure onion powder and garlic and to some I added cumin. Then I just lightly fried it in some olive oil.

COWABUNGA! It was lovely. Tender and really tasty. I was really impressed and want more! The two heart-eating experiences I’d previously had, had been Ox, which was no comparison, and chicken, which it would be foolish to compare. A more delicious option than some other organs I’ve gotten used to over the years. All in all a rip-roaring success. If you eat meat, I (ahem) heartily recommend it! Waste not the beast and all that.

Whatcha reckon?

