Identify my plant dot com (1)

11 Jul

What with all this rain we’ve been getting here, the weeds have been having a rum old son and dance. I thought it was high time I went out into the garden again and did some weeding, and so to the devil with the rain! It’s a tiresome process I can tell you, the little bleeders just pop up again when you turn your back. If only my vegetables did the same, I thought. One thought quickly led to another and it came to mind that I could just leave them if they were edible, and munch them at a later date rather than bother pulling them up and getting my fingernails dirty.

One small problem though…confidence! How would I know if it could poison me or not…. Put it on the blog and ask, why not? came the reply.

With that in mind, if anyone could shed any light on this I’d be grateful because I want to eat it!

 

Can I eat it?

It’s certainly doing better than my spinach. I have done some research and think it may be Good King Henry or something called Fat Hen.

2 Responses to “Identify my plant dot com (1)”

  1. The Forager July 13, 2012 at 9:56 am #

    That’s Fat Hen (Chenopodium album if I am not mistaken) alright, a wild version of a plant called orach that was grown quite commonly in the UK before ‘English’ spinach took over (it is in the same family – Chenopodiacae). Perfectly edible when cooked to remove the danger of high levels of oxalates (something also true of spinach). It has recently been blogged on in the States by Leda Meredith: http://nonabrooklyn.com/foraging-brooklyn-lambs-quarters-lovely-and-abundant-right-now/
    I know your pictures are a bit different, but I pretty sure it’s the same thing.

    • Profesor July 14, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

      Brilliant, I’ll be eating some of that tonight then. Thanks for the I.D. and the link.

Whatcha reckon?

